The Gentry Books

The Temptation of Gentry

Volume One of the Gentry Books, available in Kindle and paperback at Amazon

Its 1996 when Gentry arrives like a scruffy prophet to usher in the era of the Internet at a small high school on the Oregon coast. He’s a good teacher, but away from the classroom he’s quiet and aloof, preferring to live without a past or a name. He rents a small guest house, where he and his dog Bosco hope to enjoy an incredible view, some fishing and a lot of one-sided conversation. Is that so much to ask?  His landlady Kathryn and her two daughters have other plans.  Who is this beautiful Catholic stranger who has disrupted their all-female household with his strange, solitary ways? Is he a wolf at their door, or just a lost dog who needs feeding? Their need to unravel his mysteries is as strong as Gentry’s need to preserve them. As he fights a losing battle against loneliness, desire, memory and guilt, it is Gentry himself who unravels.


The Confession of Gentry

Volume Two of the Gentry Books, available in Kindle and paperback at Amazon

After his spectacular failure and the damage left behind in Oregon, Gentry flees south to Oklahoma, hoping to find refuge with old friends. He’s planning to lick his wounds and rest up, but it’s hard to find safety from his own worst instincts. His path out of celibacy is alternately hilarious and disturbing, and he finds himself in a relationship that tears away his defenses against his buried past. His sins stack up and his heart is breaking. When his life slides into financial chaos on top of everything else, he must ask for help from a very unlikely quarter. The humor of his present contrasts with the growing nightmare of his recent past, and through it all he longs for Oregon. Can he forgive himself enough to go back?



The Reconciliation of Gentry

Volume Three of the Gentry Books, available in Kindle and paperback at Amazon

It’s a broken and humbled Gentry who finds his way back to Oregon, where it seems that everything and everyone has changed. Even the house is different, but he takes refuge there anyway, though he resents the hell out of all these changes. Life is calm; setting up another computer lab at the high school, taking walks, fishing with Lorrie and hoping Gretchen wants to visit on the weekends. But when Gentry makes a shocking discovery about his own life, it changes everything, he has to make a sacrifice of the highest order. To help the people he loves most, he must bring himself to reveal his deepest secrets, his worst acts, and the dark truth of his childhood. His struggle with the process of revelation is sometimes hilarious and often tragic, but Gretchen needs him. He has no choice.


Other Novels by Karen G. Berry


The Iris Files: Notes from a Desperate Housewife

Available in Kindle and Paperback at Amazon

Each day, Iris Bourne runs a gauntlet in the California suburbs: dealing out meals with the ease of a professional card shark, scaling mountains of laundry, acting as judge and jury for sibling battles, negotiating bedtime with the skill of a career diplomat.

Iris has time for exactly one hobby—entering contests—and she’s just won a trip for two to Hawaii. She’s ready for a taste of Paradise, but her husband, Hart, keeps spoiling the mood by asking her if she’s happy. Happy? Iris has no time to be happy. When Hart announces that he is not, her life becomes even more complicated…





Love and Mayhem at the Francie June Memorial Trailer Park

Available at AMAZON.

Welcome to the Francie June Memorial Trailer Park, just outside Ochre Water, California. The annual talent show is imminent and the residents are restless. On a night when tempers keep rising and the wind won’t settle, a body is found face-down by Space 48. Who killed the Right Reverend Henry Heaven? County Sheriff Memphis LaCour is determined to find out. As he makes his methodical way through the decaying doublewides, he uncovers secrets that might break apart his community, his family, and his own sober heart.


The Chameleon Chronicles

A cozy mystery series set on beautiful Orcas island, co-written with Shannon Page under the nom de plume Laura Gayle

Orcas Intruder: Book Two of the Chameleon Chronicles

CAMILLE TATE always tells herself to calm down, but her instincts always warn her to disappear.

After the fright of her first weeks on Orcas Island, Cam wants a quiet Thanksgiving with her family and a few friends. She’s hoping that time with her foster parents will help her recover from the horror of witnessing a shooting and being kidnapped.

But her employers, the Brixtons, are arriving, along with a few unexpected visitors from Cam’s past. Her peaceful holiday is nowhere to be found. When her neighbor’s home is burglarized and ransacked, Cam’s world is threatened, too. As mysterious intruders haunt her island life, Cam realizes that the intrigue is far from over.



Orcas Intrigue: Book One of the Chameleon Chronicles

A collaborative cozy mystery written with Shannon Page. Available now at AMAZON

Camille Tate has always run away…but vanishing whenever life gets too frightening has never solved anything. When a broken heart sends Cam to remote Orcas Island to try her hand at caretaking and writing a screenplay, she finds quiet beaches and cozy bookstores, plus a host of intriguing folks, including a rugged boat-builder, a glamorous neighbor, and a reassuring sheriff’s deputy. But an escalating nest of mysteries and the haunting sense of being watched soon leave Cam wondering if she can believe her own perceptions. As intrigue turns to danger, she must decide whether there is anyone she can trust, or if it’s time for her to vanish yet again.